When You Start to Lose Your Spark

a.k.a. when your muse turns into a croc and tries to eat your dreams...

“Success seems to be largely a matter of hanging on after others have let go” ~ William Feather

My favorite quote of all time.

I know it’s a bit weird for me to post this after just talking about my critique a few days ago (or maybe, it’s completely appropriate) but every time I’m feeling a bit discouraged,  or lose my motivation for writing (or anything, really), I look at this quote. It reminds me of my reasons for doing the things I love to do, and why I won’t give them up and why I can’t quit.

I have many other quotes that I look back on, but this was the one that basically started my journey to wanting to become a published author, of wanting others to read the stories I create. I saw this some time around middle school ( I don’t really remember when or how), and immediately wrote it down in my small ‘writers’ notebook. When developing a story became tough, or I felt like my stories weren’t as good as the ones I looked up to, I’d look at this quote and think “I can’t stop. If I hang on just a bit longer, it’ll get better.”

I was tough on myself as a child, a bit of a perfectionist (still am at times) and reading this quote made me feel like I was doing something right. That as long as I didn’t give up and I kept trying, I was doing something right.

Now, I wanna hear your thoughts. Do you have anything that helps get you back into what you love? Quotes? Pictures? Stories? Share them!

2 thoughts on “When You Start to Lose Your Spark

  1. “Write while the heat is in you. The writer who postpones the recording of his thoughts uses an iron which has cooled to burn a hole with. He cannot inflame the minds of his audience.” ~ Henry David Thoreau.

    I read this every time I’m tempted to put off writing till later because I’d rather be lazy than write. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

