What’s Up Wednesday

wuwPLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme where we writers can interact with others in this large community (because writing can be a lonely road to travel, if you let it) and share what’s going on with us each week. If you’d like you join us (or are simply curious to read more about other writers) you can find out more about it at either Jaime or Erin’s blogs.

What I’m Reading

I’m working my way through the first of the Shadow Falls series, Born at Midnight. What pulled me to pick up this particular story? It has supernatural teenagers, and I want to see if C. C. Hunter is going to play with my expectations of this. It’s good so far, but I’m only a few chapters in. Maybe once I’m done with it, I’ll give it a bit of a review and tell you guys all about it.

What I’m Writing

I’ve brainstormed the details about the powers my characters can have. I realized I didn’t know enough about it. For example, the characters with elemental powers are ranked basically between one and five (but they’re shown as colors). My original thoughts about it was that their rank dictated what new abilities they’d have, but I couldn’t completely explain why they changed rank. So, someone suggested I flip it, make the abilities they learn dictate when they move up in rank, which makes a lot more sense. When a character practices and learn a new ability, they become stronger, and move up in rank. Simple.

But then I had to work out the details. What abilities for each element? How do they overlap (because they can)? What other elements can they control outside of the four (fire, water, earth, air) and why? How can that do that? etc. I also have another race (the highest) who have their own separate powers, and can also move up in rank, but it was a lot harder to define.

Anyway, I think I’ve mostly figured it out. Doing this pulled me back into my story, made me just as excited to write about as when I first thought of the idea of this world. Now, I’m working on implementing these details in the current draft.

I’ve also been re-evaluating my protagonist’s Character Arc, since some details are still muddled within the draft. It’s a bit frustrating to try to make sure it all makes sense, but when it does, I’m glad I took the time to figure it out.

What Inspires Me

‘Criminal Minds’ has been having a lot of marathons lately and I can’t stop watching it…. I’ve brainstormed more ideas than I can handle right now (my muse loves it, but me? Not so much). I’m trying to think about how the show Criminal Minds explains the minds of the unsubs, and using that(in a way) for my antagonists and villains. In general, it helps with all my characters. It reminds me to find the motivations and triggers for them, and check to see if they all make sense. I love how that show makes you think, and I would love to have that in my own stories.

What Else I’m Up To

  • Catching up on some video game playing… >.>
  • Working on some collab stories with a few friends
  • More language stuff

 

Now tell me, What’s up with you?

4 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I marathoned Criminal Minds a couple of years ago. It’s a good show, if a tad creepy at times.

    Good luck figuring out your characters and their powers ^_^ Sounds like a very exciting story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

