What’s Up Wednesday

wuwPLANEBORDER2What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme where we writers can interact with others in this large community (because writing can be a lonely road to travel, if you let it) and share what’s going on with us each week. If you’d like you join us (or are simply curious to read more about other writers) you can find out more about it at either Jaime or Erin’s blogs.

What I’m Reading

Going through a bit of a reading funk. I haven’t been able to find something that really catches my eye yet. If anyone has recommendations, please share~

What I’m Writing

Recently, I made a bet with my friend to write and finish the first draft of my WIP in a little more than a week. If I do, she’ll buy me pizza…. and I’m a sucker for pizza. XD

I’m actually not doing to good with word count, BUT I’ve written everyday, AND the story is coming along real well. So, I’m happy.

I’ve realized I stuck way too close to the plot, which was actually restricting my writing, and therefore my interest in the story. Now that I’ve let the characters do what comes natural to them, a new random character appeared and my MC got arrested. Conflict and hilarity ensued.

I’m loving my story right now~

What Inspires Me

Definitely my characters. After realizing that I haven’t been listening to them enough, my characters (especially my MC Makaya) is all  about taking the reigns from me and directing the story. I still have to lay down the structure, so that the plot still develops, but other than that, my characters clearly know what they want. And it wasn’t what I tried to force them to do.

What Else I’m Up To

  • Still working on collab stories with friends
  • Planning a cookout/get-together with family and friends
  • Planning a language meet up

 

Now tell me, what’s up with you?

6 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Pizza is great motivation. Go you!

    Hmmm, my favourite book this year was The Diviners, even though it’s a few years old. It was amazing and I definitely recommend it if you haven’t read it before.

    Like

  2. A week?? You’re crazy girl 😉 I totally agree with being restrained by the plot or outline. I have to let my characters lead, otherwise it comes out forced and awful. It’s funny where they’ll take it sometimes 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

  3. I go through periodic reading funks too. I feel one coming since I’ve just read so much lately and so fast that I think I’m going to need a book break.
    Congrats on your daily writing. I think that matters more than getting some huge word count. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

