Writing Update

I’ve finished my draft just under my goal of 200pg! The last few pages, though, were poorly written, almost summarized versions of what I wanted to happen. And I’ve realized I still have an issue with characters goals.

I don’t know why it’s so difficult to set my character out with something in mind, something they need or want to accomplish or prevent. I feel as if there is a goal in the story already, but I couldn’t tell anyone if asked what it is. At least I know all of this can be fixed once I start editing.

Anyway I’m leaving it completely alone, letting it rest for a few weeks while I work on some new things.

I’m trying to write another short story, this one I hope to finish at 10 pages about a girl-meets-boy with a bit of a language barrier. I’m excited about this one, which I always think is a good sign. The only thing I need to figure out is how I should express their different languages. But I’ll figure it out.

Along with that, I’m also reworking the world for my other novels( The Azure Dragon, etc.) by using eastern hierarchy as the basis for the government, with some modification. And I need to figure out a way to combine modern and medieval technology in the same place, seamlessly.

That’s it for my update.

Now tell me, what are you all working on right now? What are you reading/writing?

Let me know~

Leave a Reply

